2006 APRA Performers Announced

With the nominees announced and the awards just under two weeks away, event organisers are pleased to confirm details of special music guests who will perform at the 2006 APRA MUSIC AWARDS on Monday June 5th at Sydney’s Four Seasons Hotel.

Nominees who will perform at the 2006 APRA Music Awards are END OF FASHION (nominated for Song of the Year) and BECCY COLE (nominated for Most Performed Country Work). The event will also feature performances by nominees in APRA’s inaugural categories. Nominee LIOR will represent Most Performed Blues & Roots Work while both JADE MACRAE and JOEL TURNER AND THE MODERN DAY POETS (both nominated for Most Performed Urban Work) will deliver maiden performances at the APRA MUSIC AWARDS.

Special guest presenters will include former Song of the Year recipient JOHN BUTLER along with BERNARD FANNING. TIM FREEDMAN, JOE CAMILLERI, CHIT CHAT VON LOOPIN’ STAB and MAYA JUPITER with others to be announced.

Hosted by JONATHAN BIGGINS, the APRA MUSIC AWARDS is an annual celebration of Australian songwriters, honouring both composers and their publishers. The recipients of the following awards will be announced on Monday June 5th: Most Performed Urban Work, Must Performed Blues & Roots Work, Most Performed Dance Work, Most Performed Australian Work, Most Performed Australian Work Overseas, Most Performed Foreign Work, Most Performed Jazz Work and Most Performed Country work.

The recipients of the APRA Board of Writer and Publisher Directors voted Songwriter of the Year, Breakthrough Award and the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music will also be announced at the APRA Music Awards.

And the final honour to be revealed will be the prestigious APRA Song of the Year, Australia’s biggest peer voted music award.

Those with access to subscription television will be able to watch a special presentation on MAX called They Write The Songs. This special will premiere on Sunday June 18th at 8.30pm exclusively on MAX and will feature special interviews and artist profiles along with presentation and performance highlights from the 2006 APRA MUSIC AWARDS.

Who will win ‘Song of the Year’? All will be revealed Monday June 5th at the 2006 APRA Music Awards.

[Media release by Fantin Comes Alive]

Chris Duell - Founder / Developer at LoudNLocal, currently working at VentureCraft